• Visitors

    wordpress counter
  • Archives

Haddon Twp.’s McCutcheon causes “havoc” for opposition

from philly.com

Lauren McCutcheon knows her role for the Haddon Township girls’ basketball team.

She plays defense. She dives for loose balls. She scraps for rebounds. She plays more defense.

“I’ve never been a scorer in basketball,” McCutcheon said. “My job is to cause havoc, to disrupt the other team’s offense.”

It’s dirty work, but McCutcheon does it well. The senior guard is one of the keys to the Hawks’ defensive excellence.

Haddon Township is 10-0 thanks to a commitment to defense. The Hawks are allowing just 26.8 points per game, and have held six opponents under 25 points.

McCutcheon’s best sport is soccer. In the fall, she led the Hawks’ soccer team to the Colonial Conference Patriot division title and a berth in the South Jersey Group 2 championship game.

Question: What’s the key to the basketball team’s success?

Answer: We have such great chemistry on the court and off the court. Different people are stepping up at different times. It’s never the same player. We all work together and we all support each other.

Q: Do you like being known as a defensive player in basketball?

A: I do. It’s always been that way for me. I try to help the team in any way I can and that’s the best way for me to help the team.

Q: What’s it like playing for coach Tom Mulligan?

A: It’s great. People look at us and they say, “How are they winning so many games?” He’s the reason. He knows what he’s talking about. He always stays calm in heated situations.

Q: What are your plans for next year?

A: I haven’t made up my mind. I’m thinking about Stockton, Rowan and Moravian, and I definitely plan to play soccer in college.

Q: Do you know what you want to study?

A: Nursing. My mom (Kathy) was a nurse practicioner, and now she’s a school nurse. I used to go to work with her when I was little.

Q: What’s your favorite subject in school?

A: A.P. Biology. I have a strong interest in that.

Q: What kind of music do you listen to?

A:I’m not too picky. I like everything. Rap. Pop. Right now, I’d say ‘Lil Wayne is my favorite.

Q: Who has been the biggest influence on your athletic career?

A: I’d say (Haddon Township girls’ soccer) coach Jim Kay. He really made me love the sport. He taught me so much about soccer.

Q: You guys are the defending South Jersey Group 2 champions. Can you do it again?

A: Coach (Mulligan) always says to take it one game at a time, and that’s what we do. We try not to think that far ahead. But we know we’re definitely capable of winning it again. With the way we’ve been playing defense, we’re confident that we can compete with any of the teams that we play.

6 Responses

  1. http://www.philly.com/inquirer/local/20091228_Another_act_for_venerable_Westmont_Theatre_.html?text=xlg&c=y

    This is another topic but I was wondering this above article indicates that Fieldstone was the only one submitting proposal for Westmont Theatre – have there been any other proposals or is this part of what will be talked about at the next planning board meeting?

  2. I didn’t make last night’s meeting but found out that our town has a new solicitor. It must have something to do with another post on the blog earlier this week buried a few posts back.

    https://haddontwp.wordpress.com/2009/11/06/municipal-lawyers-flawed-bill-records-held-to-explain-secret-town-meetings/#comment-1777

    If it is true, Klineburger got a better deal elsewhere. No matter what, it is good for this town that he is no longer our solicitor. Just my opinion.

    They appointed Stuart Platt as our new solicitor. At a minimum, they will have a solicitor who has extensive municipal experience.

  3. LK45smile, on January 28th, 2010 at 9:07 am Said:
    It is interesting that Mr. K will not even admit his office is in Haddon Township NJ. Interesting! Went on the list last week BEFORE the swearing in. I do hope more info can be posted on “where in the state is Mr. K?” – I do love to follow the issues of this community.
    Reply

  4. JS.

    Can you please delete unrelated comments to this commendable HTHS students accomplishments.

  5. Unfortunately some find it necessary to post wherever they can find space. I would delete but I try to avoid as much censorship as possible. Just hope in the future posters stay on the topic.

    By the way, this was in every paper and a number of websites. It’s nice to see the positive when it comes the students

Leave a Reply

